Lds Africa West Area Presidency Assignments

Africa West Area Administration Office

57 Independence Avenue

North Ridge

PMB CT 209, Cantonments



Mailing Address

Same or

Pouch, Ghana


(233 )3020650-113

Driving directions

Information and Statistics (As at 15 Jan 2018)

  • Total Members 325,630

  • Missions 15
  • Temples 2

  • Stakes 93

  • Districts 41

  • Wards 702

  • Branches 554

From 'How the Church is Organized' on

'The worldwide Church is divided into geographic areas. For example, “Europe,” “Asia North,” “Caribbean,” and “Central America” are names given to specific areas of the Church. The First Presidency has assigned the Presidency of the Seventy to preside over areas in the United States and Canada. Elsewhere, the First Presidency assigns Area Presidencies to preside over selected areas under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve. An Area Presidency consists of a president and two counselors. An Area President is typically a General Authority selected from the First or Second Quorum of the Seventy, while the counselors can be either General Authorities or Area Seventies selected from any Quorum of the Seventy.

'Members of the Presidency of the Seventy or Area Presidency travel frequently within the assigned area to teach and encourage local leaders and members of the Church. Area Seventies are also assigned to consult with and instruct stake presidents in their area, under the direction of the Area Presidency or Presidency of the Seventy.'

The Africa West Area includes 17 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Western Sahara.

The Church has established units in the countries of Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal, and Togo, which are organized into stakes, wards, districts, branches and missions.  Members in the remaining countries are administrated through the Africa West Area Mission and the area president serves as the mission president.

The Area offices also house the Temporal Affairs department and the Office of Legal Counsel.


The areas as they now exist were formed in January 1984.[1] Prior to that time, general authorities served as "area supervisors" and at times resided outside of Salt Lake City.[2] In 1984, 13 initial areas were created; by 1992 there were 22, and by early 2007 there were 31. As of August 2012 there are 25 areas.


Until 2003, each area had a president and two counselors, all of whom were typically general authorities (area seventies were sometimes asked to be counselors). This three-man body was known as the area presidency. In that year, the church eliminated area presidencies for all areas located in the United States and Canada. Each of these areas were placed under the direct supervision of one of the seven members of the Presidency of the Seventy, thus freeing more general authorities from specific area assignments. Since these areas were previously administered by area presidencies located at church headquarters in Salt Lake City, the administrative change was not as drastic as it might seem.

The areas outside the United States and Canada continue to be governed by area presidencies that are typically composed of general authorities and area seventies. Rather than living in Salt Lake City, the area presidency members in these areas usually reside in a headquarters city that is located within the geographic boundaries of the area. Area seventies who serve in the area presidencies reside in their own homes, which may or may not be in the area headquarters city. One exception to the area presidency living in the geographic boundaries is the Middle East/Africa North Area which is administered from Salt Lake City. Each area presidency typically uses an executive secretary to assist in the administration of the area.

The church now has 15 areas outside North America and 10 areas inside North America for a total of 25.

Area presidency assignments are generally filled by General Authority Seventies.[3][4] Area assignments are typically announced in the spring each year, with changes effective that year on August 1.[5]

0 Replies to “Lds Africa West Area Presidency Assignments”

Lascia un Commento

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *